Jury Duty

Friday, I was called in for jury duty, for the first time ever. Not only that, I was actually assigned to the first jury I interviewed for. I thought for a brief, shining moment that, “Oh, your husband is a law student, eh?” would get me out of having to serve, but alas, I guess I come across as a reasonable adult who is able to string several thoughts together (unlike some of the folks being interviewed alongside me). Lucky for me, we ended up just having to report Monday and wait around for 6 hours (which, for me, meant reading books about Disney World history on my Kindle) before being called into the court room to be told that the parties had reached a settlement and we could go home. Huzzah!

See you in 4 years, Queens county court system! Assuming, of course, that we’re still in the area then…

 

Leave a Reply

