This week: That time we saw Benjamin Linus on the N Train

A chance to share a quick story from sometime this week!

Heading to Brooklyn from Queens on a Sunday when the trains are super slow and lame and full of tourists never seems like a good idea. And yet, there we were, on our way to meet folks for lunch in Brooklyn Heights. E and I had been bickering all morning in the way that people-who-live-together do sometimes, when he turned to me and whispered, wide-eyed, “Benjamin Linus is sitting next to me.” I looked, and, sure enough, there was Michael Emerson. We giggled to ourselves for a few minutes, took this clandestine photograph, and I tried frantically to think of something to say to him that wasn’t, “4-8-15-16-23-42.”

He got up to get off the subway just 2 stops later, and as he passed in front of us, E said, “Good luck with your new show!” He turned and looked down at us (and I was grinning like a madwoman at this point, just so you don’t think I’m cool or something), and said, “Thank you very much. I hope it’s worth watching.”

YOU GUYS. HE IS TOTALLY BENJAMIN LINUS IN REAL LIFE. HE EVEN WEARS THOSE LITTLE ROUND GLASSES IN REAL LIFE.

You know what this means, right?  LOST WAS A DOCUMENTARY.

2 thoughts on “This week: That time we saw Benjamin Linus on the N Train

  1. OMG WTF SHUT UP I CAN TOTALLY HEAR HIM SAYING THAT OUT LOUD JUST LIKE BENJAMIN LINUS OMG OMG OMG OMG

    Seriously, if I thought these things happened in real life I NEVER would have left the city.

    • RIGHT?! Living in an outer borough that isn’t Brooklyn means this was actually our first bonafied, 100%-sure celebrity encounter. Before this, I was convinced that everyone else was just bullshitting me.

Leave a Reply

